



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Thursday July 21, 2016

Contact: Jeff Gombar Phone: 604-421-9755 Ext. 3

SUBWAY® BCLA 2016 Box Lacrosse Provincial Champions Crowned

The SUBWAY® British Columbia Lacrosse Association (BCLA) Box Lacrosse Provincial Championships for the Bantam divisions were held July 16-19, 2016 in Vancouver. Thirty teams from around BC competed for Box Lacrosse supremacy in the Bantam divisions.

BANTAM BOX LACROSSE PROVINCIAL-

The Juan de Fuca Whalers beat the Coquitlam Adanacs 6-1 in the Bantam A1 gold medal match; the Burnaby Lakers outlasted the Saanich Tigers 5-4 in the Bantam A2 final; in an all-Island B final, Comox Valley Wild edged the Juan de Fuca Whalers 7-6 and Cowichan Valley Thunder outscored the West Kootenay Wolfpack 8-5 for Bantam C gold.

Bronze medal game scores were: Bantam A1 – Ridge Meadows 7-6 over New Westminster; Bantam A2 – Nanaimo 8-2 over Prince George; Bantam B – Delta 7-2 over Mission; and Bantam C – Penticton defeated Victoria-Esquimalt 4-3.

The Warrior Sports Canada Most Valuable Player award selections were: Bantam A1 – Logan Wright (Juan de Fuca); Bantam A2 – Thomas Vela (Burnaby); Bantam B – Cameron Gregory (Comox Valley); and Bantam C – Michael Daniels (Cowichan Valley). The SUBWAY® Team Sportsmanship award went to the Bantam C West Kootenay Wolfpack team. All Bantam All-Stars and Warrior Sports Canada Fair Play Awards are listed on page 2 of this media release.

For complete tournament information and scores, please visit our website at www.bclacrosse.com or contact Jeff Gombar at the BC Lacrosse Association office at 604-421-9755 (Ext. 3).





Warrior Sports Canada Fair Play Awards – Bantam Provincials

Bantam A1 Warrior Fair Play Awards	
Aiden Lalonde	Coquitlam Adanacs
Evan Law	Juan de Fuca Whalers
Aiden Sutter	Kamloops Rattlers
Jack Margetson	Langley Thunder
Greyson Planinsic	New West Salmonbellies
Noah Bradley	Ridge Meadows Burrards

Bantam A1 Fair Play Coach: Brian Spaven (Juan de Fuca)

Bantam A2 Warrior Fair Play Awards	
Ronin Sakamoto	Burnaby Lakers
Chase Schiavon	Kelowna Kodiaks
Dylan Clark	Nanaimo Timbermen
Grayson Pement	Prince George Posse
Charlie Lever	Richmond Roadrunners
Nicholas Lepessis	Saanich Tigers
Calum Ridley-Thomas	Semiahmoo Rock
Christian Petersen	Vancouver Burrards

Bantam A2 Fair Play Coach: James Esworthy (Vancouver)

Bantam B Warrior Fair Play Awards	
Evan Black	Comox Valley Wild
Jacob Wheatley	Coquitlam Adanacs
Matthew Peterson	Delta Islanders
Caleb Riach	Juan de Fuca Whalers
Elias Newport	Kamloops Rattlers
Carter Stasuk	Langley Thunder
Prabhdeep Mal	Mission Sasquatch
Tenzin Fernandez	Vancouver Burrards

Bantam B Fair Play Coach: Gary Spaven (Comox Valley)

Bantam C Warrior Fair Play Awards	
Chris Hleck	Cowichan Valley Thunder
David Hendricks	Langley Thunder
Meghan Cote	Penticton Heat
Ryan Francis	Port Coquitlam Saints
Brett Neighbor	Quesnel Wildfire
Allan Jabbar	Vancouver Burrards
Marcus Lott	Victoria Esquimalt Eagles
Ethan Heyd	West Kootenay Wolfpack

Bantam C Fair Play Coach: Kris Potter (Langley) Overall Fair Play Official: Evan Bates (Victoria)





Bantam Provincials All-Star Awards

Bantam A1 All-Star Awards	
Maxwell Semple	Coquitlam Adanacs
Adam Bland	Juan de Fuca Whalers
Trey Dergousoff	Kamloops Rattlers
Nico Gerussi	Langley Thunder
Kirk Bothwell	New West Salmonbellies
Jordan Kujala	Ridge Meadows Burrards

Bantam A2 All-Star Awards	
Jackson Murphy-Johnson	Burnaby Lakers
Bradley Swecera	Kelowna Kodiaks
Riley Gannon	Nanaimo Timbermen
Mathew Magrath	Prince George Posse
Robbie Fromm-Delorme	Richmond Roadrunners
Kyle Pepper	Saanich Tigers
Peyton Hooper	Semiahmoo Rock
Josh Alexander	Vancouver Burrards

Bantam B All-Star Awards	
Cameron Gregory	Comox Valley Wild
Joey Schmelz	Coquitlam Adanacs
Justin Hermann	Delta Islanders
Cole Mahovlich	Juan de Fuca Whalers
Cooper Kenzie	Kamloops Rattlers
Justin Pilson	Langley Thunder
Cody McMahon	Mission Sasquatch
Tim Ke	Vancouver Burrards

Bantam C All-Star Awards	
Michael Daniels	Cowichan Valley Thunder
Noah Pekter	Langley Thunder
Ethan Clutterbuck	Penticton Heat
Rahil Mawji	Port Coquitlam Saints
Brett Neighbor	Quesnel Wildfire
Kevin Dhillon	Vancouver Burrards
Josh Bryce	Victoria Esquimalt Eagles
Zion Miller	West Kootenay Wolfpack